The Betty Flood Morrow Women’s Press Club of New York State Scholarship is awarded annually, though there was no scholarship awarded in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This $1,000 scholarship provides an opportunity for a college student who wishes to resume or continue his/her studies toward a career in communications.

Applicants must be residents of New York state studying in a communications-related field at an accredited college or university within the state, and must demonstrate clear career goals, academic achievement, writing ability and leadership skills.

The scholarship is named after the Club’s late co-founder Betty Flood Morrow. Owner of Cuyler News Service and a legislative correspondent for decades, she was a lifelong and fierce advocate for women in journalism. The Betty Flood Morrow Scholarship will carry on her memory and legacy for years to come.

The deadline for scholarship applications is Aug. 1, ahead of the Club’s annual awards dinner in September in Albany, where the chosen scholarship recipient will be honored.

The student is generally recognized alongside distinguished professionals including the Club’s other honorees: Media Person of the Year, Woman in the Media, Excellence in Career Achievement, and Hall of Honor award recipients

Click here for more information and to see the 2019 application form.

Women's Press Club Scholarship

The Women's Press Club of New York State is proud to support and develop future communicators and contributors to the field with an annual scholarship, named in honor of Betty Flood Morrow, a founder of the press club. 

Contributions to the WPCNYS scholarship fund may be mailed to P.O. Box 13493, Albany, NY 12212-3493.

Congratulations to our 2018 Scholarship Winner!

 Jazmin K. GoodwinCraig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism, City University of New York

 Jazmin Goodwin graduated magna cum laude from Howard University, where she earned her bachelor     of arts in Journalism with a minor in graphic design. She formerly served as editor-in-chief of The Hilltop, Howard University’s award-winning, student-run newspaper co-founded by Zora Neale Hurston.

 Additionally, she has written and contributed digital content for various publications including Axios,   Washington City Paper, Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting, CRWN Magazine, Her Agenda and SheKnows Media. 

Jazmin has a knack for storytelling and solving problems at the intersection of women, tech and entrepreneurship. She is currently pursuing her master of arts in Journalism at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY as the first-ever Ida B. Wells Society Scholar.

Born in Germany, she was raised in Columbia, S.C., and now is a New York state resident,

Meet Our 2017 Scholarship Winner

 Heather Knott -- Senior, SUNY Cobleskill

 Heather Knott, a senior in the communications program at SUNY Cobleskill, has been a dedicated and   passionate student throughout her academic career. An ardent reader and writer, she has supported the   literary arts on campus by starting an online literary journal and tutoring in the Writing Center. Her writing   has been featured in Teen Ink, a national publication for teens.  

 Outside of school she enjoys giving back to her community both locally and internationally. She   has volunteered in Haiti on multiple occasions, teaching English and working on clean water projects. When closer to home, she tutors literacy.

After graduation, Knott hopes to pursue a master's degree in literature.   

IMore Scholarship Winners:

 2016 - Rachel Doktor, graduate student, University at Buffalo

2015 - Madeline St. Amour, University at Albany graduate; working as a reporter at the Morning Sentinel in Maine

2014 - Lauren Sears, The College of Saint Rose graduate; working as a producer for Spectrum (TWC News) in Albany

2013 - Shannan Ferry, Hofstra University graduate;  working as a reporter for NY1 in New York City

2012 - Lauren Halligan, The College of Saint Rose graduate; working as a reporter for The Record and The Saratogian

© Women's Press Club of New York State

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software